PDA

View Full Version : Calculating lathe RPM

Sunblade
05-16-2009, 01:41 PM
Hi All:

I have a benchtop lathe with a 4 step pulley drive. The rough diameter of the step pulleys are: 3"-2.25"-1.6"-1", this is as close as I can measure with a small caliper. The motor has a no-load speed of 1725 RPM. My rough calculations show that the speeds would be 575, 1104, 2695, and 5175 RPM.
Am I doing something wrong here or these figures right?
As I am a complete novice at wood turning I was wondering if 5175 RPM would be way too fast a speed for anything I would be doing even on a small diameter piece? Do I need a different set of pulleys or maybe I'm calculating wrong.
Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kerry

TDHofstetter
05-16-2009, 02:16 PM
Wow - that's a pretty surprising ratio! Your numbers are right, provided your measurement was taken at the right spot... and I'm just a little suspicious there.

You see... a 1"-diameter pulley is LEETLE and really unusual in a v-belt pulley. Are you measuring the RIM of each step, or the HUB diameter of each step? You measure across the rim to get the pulley size.

5175 is pretty fast for anything. Probably fine enough for really small stuff, but not with any sort of chuck!

-- Tim --

Member of the
Robert "Limey" Bolton Memorial
International
Volunteer Mentorship and Assistance
Programme

Sawduster
05-16-2009, 03:14 PM
Other than you high and low numbers, I come up with different numbers than yours assuming that you have two sets of identical pulleys but in reverse order on the shafts.

If you add even 1/4" to the largest and smallest, the turning speed drops to a more realistic 4485 RPMs.

[link:www.csgnetwork.com/pulleybeltcalc.html|Here is link] to a belt and pulley calculator. I came up with the same numbers for those two middle pulleys as this calculator.

TDHofstetter
05-16-2009, 03:18 PM
Dang. I didn't even think to check but the first & last numbers to get the full range.

-- Tim --

Member of the