PDA

View Full Version : Spiral Legs

Randy Foltz (Guest)
06-13-2001, 11:35 AM
Is there a tool, machine or jig for making spiral legs? (I have a router, table saw, radial arm saw & shaper.) If not, does anyone have a plan for making a jig to make spiral legs? I am a fairly well experienced amateur but my purse isn't bottomless, so I'm looking for something reasonably affordable.
Thanks

rrich
06-14-2001, 12:36 AM
Randy,
If you think of the way that a metal lathe is used to cut threads, there is a similar device used with wood. Except that you wouldn't be cutting threads. I saw this thing in a magazine some 15-20 years back. (Popular Science, maybe. It definitely wasn't a wood working magazine. It was more editorial content rather than advertising.) This thing was designed to take a router and move the router in synchronization with the rotation of a piece of stock. I have the impression that this thing had rails for the router to slide on and the router movement was cable driven. The user had to supply the router. The features of this device were that it was a lathe replacement that could also do spirals.

Two prices come to mind, $85 and $500. I can't remember which. However the $85 then would be about $500 today. Maybe someone else can remember the name of the device that I'm calling 'thing' and if we're lucky even the company that makes it. I know that I would like to cut some consistent spiral pieces.

Rich

Marilyn (Guest)
06-14-2001, 01:09 AM
I took a 2 hour course on routers at HomeDepot and the gentleman that taught the course had a jig that fit around a piece of wood and then you handturned a crank to make the bit cut a spiral around the piece. He said it came from Sears but he had had it quite a while. I don't know if they still sell anything like it. He brought in several pieces of furniture that he had made with it and they were very nice.

Phil B (Guest)
06-14-2001, 06:22 AM