Convert Table Top Drill Press to Floor Model?

I have a year old table top drill press from Craftsman. It does a good job but I've come across a problem. As a part time drummer, I've gotten into making my own snare drums. Part of the process is using the drill press to drill all of the holes into the drum shell for the hardware pieces that get attached. The table top drill press gives me enough room to put the 14" diameter drum shell in place to drill holes except when I'm using the wider - and therefore longer - drill bits.

I'm wondering if there is a way of converting the table top drill press to a floor standing model so I don't have the space limitation of fitting a drum shell between the bit and the table top base?

One crazy idea I had was to find a used (and presumably no longer working) floor model drill press just to use the base and post with my motor. But then I wondered if the post diameters and raising/lowering mechanism is standard in the industry.

Does this question make sense or do I need to post pictures?

Thanks,

-Mike

RE: Convert Table Top Drill Press to Floor Model?

What you need, Mike, is a longer column.

Or... to get that blamed foot out of the way. Am I right?

Like... if you turned the drill press around on the bench, then rotated the head 180 degrees, you'd gain another few inches - the thickness of the foot (or the foot plus the table). If that's too much clearance, you could make up a wooden platform, of course, to support the drum shell.

You could even "turn its back" to the edge of your bench, so the drill press looks over the edge to the floor. That'd get you another three feet.