Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Wind Chimes (type of string)

I have some wind chimes that I am restoring. The wooded parts are rotted and need to be replaced, however, the chimes portion are still good. I have a few questions. I don't know what type of line (or string) to use, any thoughts? Also, I'm going to use ebony for the wood. I've never used ebony before so I'm not sure what type protectant I should apply. Thoughts?

RE: Wind Chimes (type of string)

I don't consider myself a wood-chime engineer, but heck, it ain't brainsurgery either. I use mostly 30 lb. monofilament. Its pretty strong, holds up well, and limber enough to tie knots. I've also used nylon twine, the tightly braided kind. I've even got one out back made up with EMT, J-box cover plates, monel leader wire and fish swivels. Hummmmmm, maybe next I'll try basket-weaving or ....flower arranging would be nice. Have fun.

I've used fly line (wooven) for our windchimes (color to match look of chimes). Not the slightest sign of rotting or getting brittle----it will wear against sharp edges which is the only breakage I've had.

does monofiliment degrade in sunlight? I don't know why but I was thinking it did. Then again, it has been a LOOOOOONG time since I went a fishin'
    brent

Don't know if it's sunlight or just age, but monofiliment does degrade---but the stuff I use is some very old stuff my wife's ex- even left when he moved out----this stuff is at least 20 years old and still works well----similar to line sometimes used on bait casting reels.

It degrades in sunlight is the problem with it...

Left on the reel and it'll last almost indefinately...
    I'd use some braided fighing line if you want super thin cord, or use the fly line as someone else suggested for more of a twine look.

Then cast the chimes with a good 6.6 multi use rod into the wind and thumb the spool just a tad before it hits the surface to prevent backlash...

I...I'll have a sit down shall I.

Rob.