Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Radial arm saw vs. Table saw

Greetings all! My first post.

I am new to wood working and have a question about saws. I have an old radial arm saw that I picked up for $75.00. Everything works, other than I think the motor could use an overhaul I think I made out quite well. I also have a nice new 12" craftsmen chopsaw. One that has all the angles.

Here goes my question. I see lots of woodworking articles where people use table saws, yet I don't see any people using radial arm saws. Why is that? Are there limiations to using the radial arm saw that you don't have with the table saw? Well other than the obvious 18" reach of the radial arm. Is it safe to say or NOT safe to say that anything you can do with a table saw you can do with a radial arm saw? I am just trying to figure out if I should spend my bonus on a nice new table saw or should I spend it on other areas of my shop.

Thanks for any replies.

RE: Radial arm saw vs. Table saw

What kind of stuff are you looking to build?
    If you are going to get into this hobby/sport/way of life/obsession, then at some point you will want/need a table saw. The radial arm is great and I wish I had one. It does a lot of the same stuff that the chop saw does. I would like to have an arm saw to cut dados across panels for shelf units.
    You will need to rip boards for your projects... that is cut them the long way to make them the width that you want. You can do it on a radial arm saw, but it is pretty scary to me and I would not wanna do it. Especially if you are just starting out.
    so.... I would really suggest that if you have the money and wanna do this thing, go out and get a good table saw. Then go to the library/book store and get some good books on how to use it safely. Perhaps not in that order :-)