Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    Sonny Edmonds
    Guest

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    Finally got back to this, Andrew.
    I tried to take a picture of my furnace's wiring diagram, but can't get a legible shot.
    Worse than that is it is too small to read with my eyes.

    Most furnace blower motors have additional wiring for capacitors and sometimes speeds, and even additionals for AC (air conditioning).
    If at all possible, getting the cover that has the schematic on it is paramount. Or at least drawing the blowers part of the schematic so you can Identify the wires you will want to use later.
    There is no "standard" to these motors. (Which really sucks duck doo-doo!)
    You could try mining the [link:www.grainger.com/Grainger/wwg/start.shtml|Grainger] site, and spicifically try and mine down to the information pages to see if they might have your manufacturers wiring diagram.
    Or type the heater or motors manufacturer in the web address bar and see if a search brings up anything.
    But way to little information is known to me to help you much. Sorry.

    :D

    [link:home.att.net/~paul.edmonds/|Sonny Edmonds ]
    "Precision Firewood Specialist"
    God Bless America !
    One Nation Under God!
    "Lurkimus turdius orifus"

    [h1]Welcome to the Forum![/h1]





  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada.
    Posts
    2,974

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    Well, I managed to get the motor and furnace blower assembly, but my camera's not working tonight...I'll take a picture tomorrow. I did, however, write down the specs. There's a double wire and a thin green wire coming out of the motor - the double wire is 16/2 gage, and the single green insulated one seems much thinner - but it's hard to tell...does this help anyone? Is the green the ground?

    I'll get a pic posted tomorrow morning, but my biggest concern about the wiring is: won't reversing hte polarities make this thing spin backwards and turn my downdraft table into an updraft table? :) better make sure i get it right!

  3. #13
    Sonny Edmonds
    Guest

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    Sounds completely simple, now.
    Yes the thin green wire is your ground wire, the other two are for your 120 V AC power.
    If one of those two has a white stripe on it, that's your neutral (white) wire.
    If not, don't worry about it. Just make sure the ground is grounded to your homes system.
    Take a cord from an old lamp or something and connect it to the motors wires. Step back and plug it in.
    I usually call that a "smoke test".
    But in your case, it will definately be... a go, or blow test. :P
    (The circuit will go and trip the CB, or your new blower will.... well.... blow.)

    It doesn't sound to me like anything but 120 V power is needed to be added. And it will only turn one way, the right way. Enjoy! :7

    Use wire nuts for your connections. And NEVER use ANY duct tape for electrical connections.

    :D

    [link:home.att.net/~paul.edmonds/|Sonny Edmonds ]
    "Precision Firewood Specialist"
    God Bless America !
    One Nation Under God!
    "Lurkimus turdius orifus"

    [h1]Welcome to the Forum![/h1]





  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Nath Saburbin Bahstin, Massachusetts, USA.
    Posts
    4,570

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    More than adequet for a downdraft!

    You'll easily be able to run that as an ambient cleaner as well . . . with that use, it'll give you a good reason not to clutter the DD table. }>

    Switching polarity on an AC motor does not usually change the rotation, that is usually done (on motors where it's even possible) by changing the taps the power goes to in the motor . . . not merely swapping them.

    Worst that happens is you have to swap two wire after assembly. :D

    BTW, the box you build should be designed with the square part of that blower as the 'output' but you'll figure that out when you test it. }>

  5. #15
    Sonny Edmonds
    Guest

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    It was blowing the right way as a furnace blower, right?
    So it will blow the right way for your table. ;)
    Remember, the air is sucked in at the sides, the air is discharged out the square hole of the blower housing.
    Clean the squirrel cage (fan) real well. Filter the air BEFORE it goes through the fan. (Filter the air being sucked in by the fan)
    Those two things are necessary for good performance and long life of your blower/motor.
    (You will notice that the air in your HVAC system is filtered as it is being drawn into the heater.) ;)

    :D

    [link:home.att.net/~paul.edmonds/|Sonny Edmonds ]
    "Precision Firewood Specialist"
    God Bless America !
    One Nation Under God!
    "Lurkimus turdius orifus"

    [h1]Welcome to the Forum![/h1]





  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, US.
    Posts
    178

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    I built one of those from a similar furnace blower last summer. I use furnace filters to trap dust (use the good 3M filters - not the cheap 50 cent ones). I used MDF for the top with an overlay of 1/4" masonite board and drilled a bunch of holes in it. It really draws dust down when I'm sanding. The downside is that it takes up a lot of space in my shop. I put casters on it so I can roll it out of the way when not in use.

    I based my design on this one: http://www.woodworkersworkshop.com/p...ding_table.htm

    Cheers,

    Kevin

    http://users.goldengate.net/~kbrady

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    .
    Posts
    206

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    I too have a squirrel cage blower that I want to use as an air filter. The plan you based your's on is neat.

    Question: Where do you find the 3M Filtrete 1 micron filters that are referred to in the plan?

    Jerry

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada.
    Posts
    2,974

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    Anywhere, really - Canadian Tire for me...


    Wiring worked great! Thanks for all the advice - I DID trip the breaker 15 times, however, until I realized that the switch doesn't take a neutral! :D

  9. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada.
    Posts
    2,974

    RE: How to wire a furnace motor.

    Thanks Sonny! It seems then that this will be much easier than I thought!

    I figured I'd post those pictures anyway, just to make sure that I didn't miscommunicate anything - and because I froze my butt off taking them this morning! :D This should work fine for a downdraft table right? Powerful enough?

    Oh, and I notice that it says on the motor something about reversing rotation, and red and black leads...does this mean I DO have to worry about which way the motor spins? Anyway, have alook and see what you think...



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •