How to do a bullnose with a roundover bit?

Hello,
    If I want to put a bullnose or at least a partial bullnose (maybe with a small fillet on the top and bottom) along the edge of a five foot length of 1x6 oak, and if I want to do this using a roundover bit instead of a bullnose bit, can anyone tell me how to do this? If I use a roundover bit with a bearing to follow the edge, how can I avoid the problem that will occur when I have no “edge” for the bearing to follow, once I turn the piece upside down to roundover the other side?

I don’t think that I can do this with an actual bullnose bit. I have a router table but no router for it yet, and the old Craftsman router that I do have won’t fit the router table, so I will have to do this operation by hand. I realize that I’m a router newbie, but I don’t think that there’s any way to use a bullnose bit without a router table. If that’s correct, I’m stuck with trying to do it by using a roundover bit and rounding over both sides.

Any help will be appreciated.
    Louis

RE: How to do a bullnose with a roundover bit?

Grab yourself a scrap of plywood or other sheet good and mount the router to it with a hole for the bit to stick through. Throw on a straight chunk of 2x4 for a fence and you've got a router table :)

If I were in your position, I would run the round over bit in a table with a fence to isolate the bearing (basically put the fence flush with the bearing). Then I'd run the piece "vertically" - the wide edge against the fence. Set the height of the bit to JUST a little less than flush so you don't take away your whole surface.

It depends on what thickness you're working with and the radius of the roundover. If the round over radius is more than half the thickness of the board, you're gonna have to be very careful about accuracy.