Notching on a 4X4?

What is the best way to notch a 4X4 piece of wood? I am notching it for a 2X6 to make my workbench. And I don't have all the latest and greatest tools either -- miter saw, jigsaw, coping saw.

I am sure you can tell I am fairly new to woodworking, but enjoy it very much.

RE: Notching on a 4X4?

If those are your only power tool choices, I'd say a hand saw and chisel...might even be faster then the power tool set ups would be anyway.

>What is the best way to notch a 4X4 piece of wood? I am
    >notching it for a 2X6 to make my workbench. And I don't
    >have all the latest and greatest tools either -- miter saw,
    >jigsaw, coping saw.
    >
    >I am sure you can tell I am fairly new to woodworking, but
    >enjoy it very much.

This is how I would do it, but wait for more experienced people to respond to your post.

1. Mark all boundaries of the notch with a square and pencil or knife. Double check your measurements after the marks are made.

2. With a circular saw or handsaw, cut crossgrain kerfs through the area to be notched to about 1/16" less than the desired depth. Do the two edge kerfs first. Leave about 1/8" or more of wood between kerfs to keep the saw in the wood.

3. Sharpen a 1" or wider chisel. Do a forums search on sharpening, as there are many excellent posts on this. The "scary sharp"/sandpaper method is cheapest.

4. Use the chisel to clean and flatten the bottom of the notch.

Andy

If you have a circular saw, I agree with Andy that this would be the easiest way. Once the kerfs are cut, you should be able to knock out the pieces with a hammer and then clean up the area with a chisel.

Bob R

Couldn't knocking it out with a hammer "rip" or break off more than I want? Even if I cut a little less than my desired depth, isn't there the possibility of damage to the part I don't want to cut?

I know it sounds silly to try to make a workbench look nice, but I am also practicing for other projects I would like to do in the future.