Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

How do you make triangle picture frames with power miter saw

I'm an artist who has started making picture frames with my router table, power miter saw, and band clamp. I would like to make a triangle picture frame. I guess the miters would be 60 degrees instead of 45 for a right angle. How do you do this on a power miter saw? Thanks for your help.

RE: How do you make triangle picture frames with power miter

You can use a power miter saw to do this but you will want to make sure that it is acurately set up, that you're able to acurately cut stock to length (you might need stops), that you operate the saw safely (small pieces can be a PIA on a CMS), and you may need to make a zero clearance insert for the saw blade (to avoid raged cuts). Although each leg of the triangle would be 60 degrees you'll want to make each cut at 30 degrees (bisect the angle) to work. I prefer to make these cuts on a table saw with a cutoff sled. If you plan on doing a lot of these, or often need to do fine trimming, you should consider investing in a miter trimer which is a guilotine like device for acurately trimming wood and is often used by picture framers.

Well.....

Actually, each leg of a triangle is 120 degrees, so each cut would be 60 degrees....

I'll go piss off now.... bye :)

Make an auxiliary fence that's at an angle of say... 15 degrees, and use this fence as your reference instead of the fence on the miter saw. Now when you set your miter saw to 45 degrees, you'll be cutting at 60 degrees.

Hope that made sense...

Alternative...