storage cabinet for can goods(kitchen)

I would like to build a storage cabinet in my kitchen to store can & bottle goods. The size I would like 34widex24deepx96high. How would I go about this?( I am a newbie at woodworking):) Also, has anyone been to woodshopdemos.com? They have a dovetail template master that looks pretty good and pics to show how to build a template.:)

RE: storage cabinet for can goods(kitchen)

Richard--

Your question, essentially "How do I build a cabinet?" is pretty broad. Hard to answer in a forum like this. Try your local bookstore or library for a book or three on cabinetmaking.

Ask here if you get stuck on specifics.

---Jerry

You need to learn from other people's mistakes. You'll never have enough time to make them all yourself.

I would like to build a storage cabinet in my kitchen

So would I, but the wife would kill me!

Any how, I assume you want to build a built in cabinet? plywood (birch would be my choice, but you could use what ever) for the carcass, built in the shop, and then install. Id secure it to the wall though. I would then face frame, add doors, and trim the top/bottom to match what ever you already have.

34widex24deepx96high.

Since plywood comes in 4X8 sheets this size will cause some waste. Since you plan on using it to store can goods, Id also make the shelves out of plywood.

Keystone

One of the Original Charter Members. Circa 2000

No longer here. Can now be found at WoW.

One piece of advice, you might want to re-think the 24" deep part of the size. I built some cabinets for canned food type storage that are 24" deep and most of the time you could roll a bowling ball along the back of the shelves without hitting anything. I think it's just too deep to stack a bunch of canned goods, and find anything again reasonably.

Actually, a 24" deep pantry is a good idea, provided that the shelves are "U" shaped for easy access....

Dano