Altastic

What is the best wood for a speaker cabinet

Hello I'm very new to woodworking but I want to build a speaker cabinet for my guitar amp. I'm looking for a wood that will resist sound vibration but be able to produce a warm tone, and have a nice grain pattern to show off. Please tell me if you have any suggestions that may help. Thanks -Alex
    contact me at altastic@hotmail.com

RE: What is the best wood for a speaker cabinet

Particle board is the material of choice for commercially built speaker enclosures. It has excellent sound properties. It can be covered with veneer or laminate to give you a finish to show off.

The only problem with particle board is that it doesn't hold screws or nails well. You will have to use nailing blocks to screw and glue.

Marc is right--though I've also seen MDF used. If you can get a look at some amp or speaker cabinets, below the covering, that's likely what you'd find---it's got a neutral resonance in that there are no voids or grain variations to deal with.
    But, if this is something you're going to be moving around a lot, you might have to go beyond the glue blocks to something very strong/durable.

I'm going to be building a speaker cabinet for a bass guitar soon, and was looking at information on the best size, and porting/venting or a sealed enclosure and stuff like that. I ran across a couple of website's that you can apply to a guitar cabinet as well. Have a gander at them - maybe you'll run across some useful info in terms of designing the cabinet as well as wood preference.

Bass guitar cabinet designs
    http://www.geocities.com/SunsetStrip...1/speaker.html

This one has free downloadable speaker simulation software.
    http://members.aol.com/speaker60e/speakerpro.html

JBL tech info has cabinet building recommendations
    http://www.jblpro.com/pages/tech_lib.htm

Anatomy of a loadspeaker/ and wiring info
    http://www.celestion.com/pro/wiring.htm

hope these will give some ideas!