Old Craftsman Jointer - Knife replacement

I have an old Craftsman 4-3/8" adjustable jointer that my dad gave me. It's pretty old (I don't know exactly how old). I don't have any manual for the thing. Anyway, I've checked the Sears website and they no longer archive the service manual for this model.

The thing is dead on, but I don't think the knives have ever been sharpened or replaced (to my knowledge). My dad didn't use it alot and kept very good care of it. I too take good care of it, but I use it alot. It's now getting dull. I think I've found a resource for new blades, but I'm not sure how to replace them and get them adjusted properly.

I've looked at the way they're mounted and it looks like there is play (a gap) underneath the blades. I'm afraid if I loosen the set screws (even to look at the blade jaw assembly more closely) I won't know how to get the blades all aligned back up again.

I've never done this before so I'm kind of in the dark.

Any insight or help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Bob

RE: Old Craftsman Jointer - Knife replacement

If you look closely (without loosening any of the "gib screws" that hold the knives (blades) in place, can you tell if there are "jack screws" underneath the knives to push 'em up into position? If there are, they'll be a godsend.

If you can't tell for sure (because of caked sawdust or not enough light), try probing with a little piece of stiff wire. See if you can feel one screw underneath each end of a knife. They should, if they're there at all, have Allen heads.

If it's got no jack screws, it can still be done... but it's a tad more challenging & frustrating.

I'll bet I'll bet I'll bet it's got 'em. :) Fingers crossed. :)

-- Tim --

Drummer?
    There's a DRUMMER?
    :)

for what I'm thinking is your's.

YMMV
    Anthony