Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talking Benchtop Jointer

Hello all, FNG here with an age old beat to death question I'm sure. Little background, I am still somewhat new to woodworking, been on and off again between deployments for the last 3 years. I mostly do shadow boxes, sword cases, ect...box work. I have a small garage that my wife was nice enough to let me turn into my shop. I have a decent table saw (Delta Industrial) I recently purchased a little 6" porter cable benchtop jointer, no real space nor funds to get a grizzly just yet, and a planer to go with it. The wood I run through them is mostly red oak or poplar (readily available) and I keep getting wedged shaped boards. The wedge is always on the first part of the board that I feed through it. I've been over and over all the adjustments, read 500 forums. Some say that's just the nature of a jointer, but other people have no problem getting a nice flat even surface with no wedge. Are these jointers just no good, or is it my technique? I've tried just about everything. Can anyone offer up any good info? Thanks, good to be a part of the forum.

I am assuming the "wedge" you are refering to is realy called "snipe".

I don't have experience with a benchtop jointer, and I think it will be difficult to work with because on the "length" of the infeed table. It is not really going to allow you to hold the wood flat down as well as you really want to. Sooo - sake special care to hold the wood as flat as possible all through the cut.

But, even more important than that is to have the tip of the cutter to be in perfect alignment or .002/.003 below the "outfeed" table. This is likely your biggest problem.

Lastly - the infeed and the outfeed tables must be "coplaner" - or in other words - in alignment with each other.