Question about slab drying

Hi!
    I'm a newbie. What is the best way to dry a slab or round of wood without it cracking?
    Thanks for any help or ideas!
    Spudz

First of all, paint the end grain with latex paint to prevent the ends from drying faster than the rest of the wood to prevent, or at least slow down any cracking that may occur. If you are planning to saw the wood into boards, go ahead and saw them a bit thicker than you intend your final dimension to be. If your final thickness will be 3/4" then saw it to 1" or 7/8" or so to allow room for you to be able to remove any warpage during drying. Then, you want to stack the wood with stickers (narrow strips of wood) between the boards to allow for air circulation between the boards. Place some fairly heavy weights on top of the boards to help keep them flat during drying. If drying outside, you need to put a tarp or something over the wood to protect it from the elements, but it also has a side benefit of keeping it from drying too fast. That is one of the main things is to not try to rush the drying process. It simply takes time.

There's a long thread about this very topic, about 2 years old, but I couldn't find it.

I'll bet I've dried 100 or more slabs in the last 5-6 years....12-15 without cracking.
    This is how I do it. Lay the slab down flat and wet the bark and sapwood down good with CA (super) glue. Do both sides. This does two things...it will keep the bark from falling off, and IMO helps seal and slow down the drying around the very edge.
    This one stood on end in an unheated pole barn for two years, then in my heated garage for another two. Those runs you see are from the spar varnish I put on the bark 'bout a year ago. NO CRACKS!!!